Skip navigation links

Vice Provost and Associate Vice President for Faculty and Academic Staff Affairs

Updated October 2023

Search Firm

MSU is partnering with executive search firm WittKieffer
Nominations for qualified applicants can be sent to: 

Position Overview

Michigan State University (MSU) seeks a collaborative and strategic senior-level administrative to serve as the next Vice Provost and Associate Vice President for Faculty and Academic Staff Affairs (VPFASA). The VPFASA is responsible for envisioning, leading, and implementing the university’s strategic commitment and priority to advance faculty and academic staff success and to contribute to an academic climate of respect, caring, diversity, equity, and inclusion. The VPFASA reports to and serves at the pleasure of the Provost, who is designated by the Board of Trustees as the principal academic officer of the University. The Office of the VPFASA supports organizational development and culture building to ensure that MSU is developing and implementing leading-edge policies and resources, and providing high-quality professional development, all designed to enhance institutional excellence, productive academic work environments, institutional priorities to advance diversity, equity, and inclusion goals, and individual advancement and success aligned with university strategic priorities.

Leadership Profile

Search Timeline

  • April 2023 – Constituent Listening Sessions
  • May 24, 2023 – Search Committee Charge & Kickoff
  • End of May 2023 – Position Profile Completed
  • June – August 2023 – Candidate Recruitment
  • August 2023 – Candidate Review
  • September 2023 – Semi-Finalist & Finalist Interviews
  • October/November 2023 – Finalist Selection & Announcement

Search Committee 

  • Kelly Millenbah (search committee chair), Dean College of Ag & Nat Resources,
  • Ann Austin, Interim Vice Provost Faculty and Academic Staff Affairs,
  • Kate Birdsall, Fixed Term Faculty/Union of Non-Tenured Faculty President,
  • Theresa Kelley, Associate General Counsel Office of General Counsel,
  • Christina Brogdon, CHRO Human Resources,
  • Nikki Schmidtke, Title IX Coordinator OIE,
  • Gemma Reguera, Associate Dean Faculty Affairs College of Natural Sciences,
  • Melanie Trowbridge, AVP - HR Health Sciences,
  • Tim Vos Chairperson, College of Communication Arts and Sciences,
  • Cindi Leverich, Faculty & Org Development Assistant Director Faculty and Academic Staff Development,


Can be sent to: