Skip navigation links


William J. Beal Outstanding Faculty Awards 

William J. Beal Outstanding Faculty Awards are made each year to members of the regular faculty, i.e., tenure system faculty and librarians in the continuing appointment system, for outstanding total service to the University. MSU Facility for Rare Isotope Beams/National Superconducting Cyclotron Laboratory (FRIB/NSCL) faculty and Health Programs (HP) faculty are also eligible for nomination. The nominations are based on teaching; advising; research; publications; art exhibitions; concert performances; committee work; public service including extension, outreach and work with government agencies and industry; or a combination of these activities. Administrative excellence and length of service may not be used as the sole criteria for nomination. However, nominees usually have at least five years of service at Michigan State University. Up to ten nominees are selected for the award.

Additional information may be found below.